Trivikram Srinivas wrote and directed Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo, a 2020 Indian Telugu-language action drama film produced by Allu Aravind and S. Radha Krishna. Allu Arjun, Pooja Hegde, Tabu, Jayaram, Sushanth, and Nivetha Pethuraj appear in the film.

In his third collaboration with Allu Arjun, S. Thaman composed the soundtrack album and background score for the film. Four of the album’s six tracks were released as singles and went viral upon release, with lyrics penned by Sirivennela Sitaramasastri, Kasarla Shyam, Krishna Chaitanya, Ramajogayya Sastry, Kalyan Chakravarthy, and Vijay Kumar Bhalla.

With almost 500 million views as of January 2021, the song “Butta Bomma” became the most viewed Telugu song on YouTube. “Butta Bomma” and “Ramuloo Ramulaa” became the first South Indian songs to be included in YouTube’s Top 10 Indian Music Videos in 2020.